This guide will explain how to private message and private groups.
How do I private message?
The private message tool allows you to send private posts in a safe and private space to other users.Only you and the person who sent the message can view the message.
1. In order to private message you first need to be logged in. You then need to click the envelope icon in the top right hand corner of the screen on the forum page.
2. You then have the option to create a new message to another user by selecting the 'compose a message’ tab.
3. You can also private message a user by clicking on their username and selecting the ‘Send this user a private message’ button on the right hand side of the screen.
Please Note: If you are a very new user you may not be able to see the envelope icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. This is because we wait for users to post their first few posts before allowing the private messages option in order to avoid spam messages. If you would like to enable private messaging please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Private groups are a place to talk, share experiences and support one another in a safe environment. A private group cannot be seen or accessed by anyone who is not an accepted member of the group. We have two types of private groups on the forum.
Open Private Groups are private groups that can only be seen by its members and not the open forum. These groups do not need moderator permission to join and can be joined by simply clicking on the group and requesting to join.
Closed Private Groups are groups that can only be seen by its members and not the open forum. They differ from open private groups as when you request to join a moderator has to accept your request based on the criteria of the group.