Re: Letrozole and osteoporosis

I automatically had one allocated when I started anastrozole and was advised I would have them regularly as long as I was on the tablets.

Perhaps it depends on the health authority? I was certainly told in mine that I'd have one as a matter of course when I was prescribed letrozole ...

Hi Im new on here but i had a dexa scan last Monday. They told me that it isnt routine to get called and that i should book another in 2021. I am 11 days into letrozol and have a stiff neck so far and a little stiffness in my arm. 

Ah, I expect you know more about this than I do Smiley Happy! I didn't realise that all bone scans aren't dexa scans, if you see what I mean ...

I've had two bone scans, before and after my surgeries to check for spread but a dexa scan is not the same.

I'm no expert but, as I understand it, anyone being prescribed letrozole is put through a bone scan because osteoporosis is such a 'common' side-effect. I remember my consultant had mentioned it early on in my treatment, although I had to jog the system to get one done.

So sorry to hear about the hair loss ... Smiley Sad

I've recently been started on letrozole, 3 weeks ago. I've never had a dexa scan and not had one mentioned to me by anyone?. No aches or pains that I didn't have before but I've lost half of the hair I managed to keep all though nearly 5 months of chemo with the aid of the cold cap

I have been taking Letrozole for two weeks. Haven't had my Dexa scan yet but my oncologist said it would be repeated in 2 years.

Hi rose, my poor nan God rest her soul was on her cancer medication for 20 years when she was only supposed to be on it for 5 years. Not one person who is in the medical profession picked up on this.